more from
Digital Regress

Some Beautiful Species Left

by EXEK

/
  • Streaming + Download

    Includes unlimited streaming via the free Bandcamp app, plus high-quality download in MP3, FLAC and more.
    Purchasable with gift card

      $10 USD  or more

     

  • Record/Vinyl + Digital Album

    Coke Bottle Clear or Black vinyl

    Includes unlimited streaming of Some Beautiful Species Left via the free Bandcamp app, plus high-quality download in MP3, FLAC and more.
    ships out within 7 days

      $15 USD or more 

     

1.
07:21
2.
05:04
3.
4.
5.
6.
7.
04:54
8.

about

LP ORDERS: If you live in Australia or Asia, please purchase here and your order will be fulfilled by Anti Fade. If you live in America, please purchase here and your order will be fulfilled by Digital Regress. If you live in Europe or Africa, please purchase directly through SDZ sdzrecords.bandcamp.com

From Melbourne Australia, EXEK are proud to unveil their third album, “Some Beautiful Species Left”. Like their previous releases, “Some Beautiful Species Left” is the cultivation of numerous edits and overdubs, where once again EXEK subscribe to Brian Eno’s philosophy of the studio as an instrument. This MO allows the songwriting process to develop simultaneously alongside the recording process whilst privileging greater sonic control.

The result is a record difficult to pigeonhole but post punk is perhaps the easiest way to categories EXEK’s music - post modern and containing the defiance inherent within punk whilst incorporating elements of dub production, classical arrangements, hip hop and Krautrock rhythms and the use of kitchen appliances as instruments.

After last year’s successful tour of the US, EXEK embark on their first European visit in September 2019. The tour is presented by Upset The Rhythm, Puschen booking, and Future Folklore, and all dates can be found below.

‘Some Beautiful Species Left’ will be released on September 6th on SDZ (Europe), Digital Regress (USA), and Anti Fade (Aus). EXEK is pronounced ‘exec’, short for executive.

Sept 06 Fri Rennes Marquis de Sade
Sept 07 Sat Paris Point Ephemere

Sept 09 Mon Toulouse Le Ravelin
Sept 10 Tues Gigors Gigors Electric
Sept 11 Wed Lyon Grrrnd Zero
Sept 12 Thu Milan Macao
Sept 13 Fri Kreuzlingen Horst
Sept 14 Sat Leipzig TIFF
Sept 15 Sun Wroclaw Luksus

Sept 18 Wed Warsaw Poglos
Sept 19 Thu Szczecin Klub Storrady
Sept 20 Fri Berlin Internet Explorer
Sept 21 Sat Groningen Vera
Sept 22 Sun Diest Jeugdhuis Tijl
Sept 23 Mon Antwerp Cabron

Sept 27 Fri London Moth Club
Sept 28 Sat Brighton Bees Mouth
Sept 29 Sun Bristol Gravy train

credits

released September 6, 2019

Andrew Brocchi – Synths
Sam Dixon – Drums
Ben Mackie – Trumpet
Jai K Morris Smith – Guitar
Henry Wilson - Guitar
Albert Wolski – Vocals, Guitar, Bass Guitar, Percussion, Violin, Piano, Treatments

Produced by Albert Wolski
Mastered by Mikey Young
Cover photo by Robyn Daly
Back photo by Pia Hannah
Layout by Ying-Li Hooi

license

all rights reserved

tags

about

EXEK Melbourne, Australia

Post punk / dub / krautrock from Melbourne Australia. Est 2014

shows

contact / help

Contact EXEK

Streaming and
Download help

Redeem code

If you like EXEK, you may also like: